International competition for female photographers closes soon

16 April 2018


Prix Virginia 2018, the international photography competition for women, closes on the 7th May 2018.

The prize has been awarded to a living female photographer, regardless of age and nationality, every two years since 2012. Promoting and helping a woman photographer’s work, is the goal of the Prix Virginia which offers 10 000 euros to the winner as well as a solo exhibition in Paris amongst other prizes. Entrants are asked to submit 12-15 images and letter of motivation, describing the creative and artistic dimensions of these images.

As a photographer and visual artist, Sylvia Schildge, president of the Prix Virginia, belongs to a family of women artists, painters, sculptors and musicians. She wanted to honor them by creating a prize exclusively reserved for women photographers. She gave it her pianist grand-mother’s name, Virginia.

The professional Jury is updated every two years and has included:

• Monica Allende, Sunday Times Magazine photo editor
• Jacques Audiard, film director
• Christian Caujolle, art professor and independent curator
• François Hebel, former director of Arles international photography festival
• Marin Karmitz, film producer, creator of MK2 and art collector
• Laurent Le Bon, director of the Picasso Museum, Paris
• Agnès Sire, former director of the Cartier-Bresson Foundation
• Hripsimé Visser, photography curator in Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam
• Jules Wright, director of The Wapping Project Bankside, London.

The 2016 recipient was English photographer Siân Davey, for her series of work 'Martha'. The project stemmed from her meeting with the young Martha and followed her in her adolescent daily routine in a world without any adults. Davey’s intimate images catch this delicate and fleeting transition to adulthood, to individualization and growing up. Davey managed to make the most of this narrow window in which the young girl, no longer a child and not yet an adult, could behave free from the weight of societal expectations and norms.

Other recipients:

2014 - Dina Goldstein for Fallen princess and In the Dollhouse:
Dina Goldstein is a Canadian photographer born in Israel in 1969. Throughout her staged photographs, Dina Goldstein deconstructs the feminist cliches conveyed by fairy tales and Barbie dolls. 

2012 - Liz Hingley for The Jones family:
Liz Hingley is an English photographer born in 1985. She followed the Jones family, the parents and their seven children, in their three-bedroom council house in the industrial city of Wolverhampton.

The prize will be awarded in October 2018.
Download an application form here:

Picture copyright: Martha Series 6 by Siân Davey.