Whether you are working digitally, using film or experimenting with more traditional processes, all subjects, genres and styles of photography can be entered into many of our competitions, grants and bursary opportunities. The majority are open to both members and non-members. You will also find links to opportunities from our friends and partners listed below.

Monthly Competition - Community

This competition is open to RPS members and offers the winners the opportunity to have their images published in our award-winning Journal.

Closes: 30th November 2019→

International Garden Photographer of the Year

International Garden Photographer of the Year is run in association with the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew. The Best Overall Portfolio category is supported by the RPS.

Closes: 31 October 2019→

The Peter Hansell Scholarship Fund

The Medical Group of the RPS administers a scholarship fund in memory of Dr Peter Hansell HonFRPS, a pioneer of the practice and teaching of medical photography in the second half of the 20th Century.

Open until total annual funding allocation reached→

Environmental Bursary

The Royal Photographic Society in partnership with The Photographic Angle is offering a 1-year bursary to support a photographic project that will promote environmental awareness.

Now closed for 2019→

Joan Wakelin Bursary

Administered by The Society in partnership with The Guardian. The Joan Wakelin Bursary offers £2000 for the production of a photographic essay on an overseas social documentary issue.

Now closed for 2019→

RPS Postgraduate Bursary

As part of The RPS remit as an educational charity we offer an annual bursary of £3,500 in support of a postgraduate student.

Now closed for 2019→

Short Film Award

Can you do it in 90 seconds? DepicT! challenges filmmakers on any budget from anywhere in the world to show their stuff in just a minute and a half. In partnership with Watershed and DepicT!

Now closed for 2019→

Science Photographer of the Year 2019

Entries are now being taken for the Science Photographer of the Year Competition 2019.

Now closed for 2019→