The Society has a number of standing committees which advise Council on various matters. The Society's general structure is shown here. The membership of the standing committees is shown below. Subcommittees where extant are indicated. 


Janine Freeston ARPS (SIGs)

Cheryl Newman FRPS (Awards Chair)
Ray Spence FRPS (Distinctions Chair)
Anne Williams (Education Chair)
Derek Trendell ARPS (Finance Chair)
Mary Crowther ARPS (Regions Chair)
Bruce Broughton-Tompkins LRPS (Regions Chair)
Bob Tapper (Science Chair)
Roy Thomas (PAGB Representative)
Naomi Galliford (Volunteering Manager)

Simon Bibb (Membership Manager)

TBC (Overseas)



Cheryl Newman FRPS

Internal Members:
Robert Albright HonFRPS (President)

Del Barrett ARPS (Vice President)

Derek Trendell ARPS (Treasurer)

Mike Taylor (Chief Operating Officer)

Dr Michael Pritchard (Director, Education & Public Affairs)

Bob Tapper ASIS FRPS (Science chair)

Ray Spence, FRPS (Distinctions chair)

Anne Williams (Education Chair)

Martin Barnes (Senior Curator, Photographs,V & A)  

Externals Members:

Anne Braybon (Creative Director & Photographic Historian)

Shoir Mavlian (Director Photoworks)

Hannah Watson (Director, Trolley Books and TJ Boulting)

Brandei Estes (Head of Photographs, Sotheby’s London)

Emma Bowkett (Director of Photography, FT Weekend Magazine)

Dr Lucy Soutter (Artist, Critic, Art Historian)

Fiona Rogers (Global Director, Business Development, Magnum Photos) 

Matt Mueller 

Ray Spence FRPS (Chair)

Roy Robertson HonFRPS
Sue Brown FRPS
Simon Leach FRPS
Ravi Deepres FRPS
Peter Hayes FRPS
Douglas May FRPS
Andy Golding ASICI FRPS
Andrea Liggins ASICI FRPS

The members of the 
Fellowship Committee and Distinction Panels, 
Imaging Science and Creative Industry Boards 
can be seen here

Anne Williams (Chair)

Members to be confirmed 


Derek Trendell ARPS (Chair, Treasurer)
Robert Albright HonFRPS (President)
Del Barrett ARPS (Vice President 
Alan Hodgson (Trustee)
Michael Pritchard FRPS (Director of Education and Public Affairs)
Nikki McCoy (Finance Manager)

The Investment subcommittee is chaired 
by the Treasurer


Bob Tapper ASIS FRPS (Chair)

Prof Mark Richardson ASIS FRPS 

Dr Afzal Ansary ASIS FRPS
Gary Evans ASIS FRPS
Prof Francis Ring ASIS FRPS
Dr Alan Hodgson ASIS FRPS
Bob Tapper ASIS FRPS
Dr Sophie Triantaphillidou ASIS FRPS
Prof Caroline Wilkinson

A representative from each Society special interest group


Janine Freeston ARPS (Historical)
Rod Fry ARPS (Contemporary)

David Healey ARPS (Analogue)

Gwilym Owen ARPS (Archaeology & Heritage)
Howard Bagshaw ARPS (Audio Visual)
Steve Varman LRPS (Creative Eye)
Chas Hockin LRPS (Digital Imaging)

Mark Phillips ARPS (Documentary)
Gary Evans ASIS FRPS (Imaging Science)
Richard Ellis LRPS (Landscape)
Afzal Ansary ASIS FRPS (Medical)
David O'Neill LRPS (Nature)
Liz Rhodes (Travel)
Andreas Klatt ARPS (Visual Art)
Thérèse Barry (Women in Photography)

A representative from each Society Region


Bruce Broughton-Tompkins LRPS (South East)

Mary Crowther ARPS (Yorkshire)



Mike Sharples ARPS (Central)

Mark Stimpson LRPS (East Anglia)

Stewart Wall ARPS (East Midlands)

Michael O’Sullivan FRPS (Eire)

Judy Hicks LRPS (London)

Rolf Kraehenbuehl (North Wales)

Brian Smethurst ARPS (North West)

Carol Palmer ARPS (Northern)

Richard Corbett (Northern Ireland)

James Frost FRPS (Scotland)

David Paskin (South Wales)

Tim Sanders LRPS (South West)

Paul Cox ARPS (Southern)

Mark Buckley-Sharp ARPS (Thames Valley)

David Norfolk ARPS (Western)